Seats in North Kashmir see high turnout

Seats in North Kashmir see high turnout

Seats in North Kashmir see high turnout

The first phase of polling in both Jammu and Kashmir and Jharkhand saw the voter turnout rise in most constituencies, as compared to polling during the general elections earlier this year.

The three north Kashmir constituencies in Bandipora district, which had recorded low turnouts in the Parliamentary polls, saw a whopping 75 per cent voters come out to vote on Tuesday.

The Bandipora Assembly segment, which had recorded just 19.31 per cent polling earlier, saw a 65.06 per cent turnout, while the frontier Gurez constituency near the Line of Control witnessed a 77.15 per cent polling compared to 43.78 per cent earlier. Similarly, Sonawari, which had recorded 48.23 per cent polling earlier, saw an 80 per cent turnout this time.

In central Kashmir, the Ganderbal seat saw 60.44 per cent voter turnout on Tuesday, compared to 28.9 per cent earlier, while neighbouring Kangan saw a turnout of 78.36 per cent, compared to 62.19 per cent earlier.

However, Leh in the frontier Ladakh region witnessed a lower turnout than earlier, as it is in the grip of a severe cold wave, with the mercury dipping 10 degrees below zero. The turnout was 65.29 per cent, as compared to 68.92 per cent earlier. 

Similarly, Nobra witnessed a 74.58 per cent turnout, compared to 75.22 per cent earlier.
The Kargil constituency next door recorded a voter turnout of 63.93 per cent, compared to 77.15 per cent earlier, while Zanskar saw 71.31 per cent polling, compared to 69.38 per cent earlier.

Kishtwar in the Jammu region recorded 72.54 per cent polling, Inderwal 79 per cent, Doda 70 per cent, Bhaderwah 68 per cent and Ramban 70 per cent.

Reports said the voting time had to be extended in several polling stations to allow those who were already inside the polling station premises to cast their votes.
In Jharkhand, Chief Electoral Officer P K Jajoria said: “The first phase election recorded 62 per cent polling.”

The Election Commission had made adequate security arrangements, with three helicopters monitoring polling procedure aerially. This was besides the 45,000 security personnel deployed at 3,691 polling booths in the 13 Assembly constituencies.

The fates of 199 candidates, including state Congress president Sukhdeo Bhagat, Rashtriya Janata Dal president Girinath Singh, the All Jharkhand Students Union’s Kamal Kishore Bhagat, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha leader Chamra Linda and the BJP’s Latehar nominee Brajmohan Ram, were sealed in Tuesday polling.

Polling was, however, marred by stray incidents of violence when antisocial elements broke electronic voting machines at booths number 191 and 192 in Chhattarpur, where re-polling will be scheduled.

At Chatra’s booth number 306, the electorate boycotted voting to protest against the lack of developmental work. A major attack was averted when security personnel detected a landmine on Chatra-Pratappur Road.