Double delight for Gayathri, Aditya wins

Gayathri Rani enjoyed a fruitful outing as she won both the singles and the doubles titles while Aditya Diwakar had a mixed day, winning the singles but losing the doubles tie at the Koramangala Club U-10 State-ranking badminton meet here on Sunday.

In the boys’ section, while singles finals saw Aditya beat top seed Sumukh GS 22-20, 21-17 in a closely fought that went down to the wire, Sumukh got his revenge as he and Tushar Suveer got the better of Diwakar and Aditya Narayan Bhat 21-15, 21-12 to life the doubles crown.

In the girls’ section, Gayathri drubbed Rakshita A 21-16, 21-12 to lift the singles title and then paired up with Karnika Sree to beat Gauri V Rao and Rakshita A 21-19, 21-18 to wear the doubles crown.

In the singles tie, though Gayathri had an easy go registering a comfortable win, she was made to work hard along with Karnika in doubles before putting the macth to bed.

Results: Boys singles final: Aditya Diwakar bt Sumukh G S 22-20, 21-17.Semifinals: Sumukh G S bt Krish Puri 21-9, 21-7; Aditya Diwakar bt Tushar Suveer 23-21, 21-19. Quarterfinals: Sumukh G S bt Aditya Narayan Bhat 18-21, 21-18, 21-9; Krish Puri bt Suchinth K Shivaram 21-19, 13-21, 23-21; Tushar Suveer bt Aditya Pradeep 19-21, 21-11, 21-18; Aditya Diwakar bt Neel Devaiya 21-7, 21-11.

Doubles final: Sumukh G S/ Tushar Suveer bt Aditya Diwakar/ Aditya Narayan Bhat 21-15, 21-12.Semifinals: Aditya Diwakar/ Aditya Narayan Bhat bt Nithin Kamath S/ Suchinth K Shivaram 21-4 21-6; Sumukh G S/ Tushar Suveer bt Aditya Pradeep/ Krish Puri 21-11, 21-12. Quarterfinals: Aditya Diwakar/ Aditya Narayan Bhat bt Navneet Desai/ Saharsh Raj 21-4, 21-1; Nithin Kamath S/ Suchinth K Shivaram bt Arul Arora/ Sharan R Knadam 21-11, 21-11; Aditya Pradeep/ Krish Puri bt Nicholas Nathan Raj/ Satvik Shankar 21-16, 19-21, 21-16; Sumukh GS/ Tushar Suveerbt Manu N G/ Neel Devaiya 21-6, 21-12.Girls singles finals: Gayathri Rani Jaiswal bt Rakshita A 21-16, 21-12.Semifinals: Gayathri Rani Jaiswal bt Shriya K 21-7, 21-7; Rakshita A bt Neysa Cariappa A 21-16, 21-18.

Quarterfinals: Shriya K bt Mounitha A S 21-19, 21-19; Gayathri Rani Jaiswal bt Ananya Joshi 21-14, 19-21, 21-19; Rakshita A bt Karnika Sree S 21-11, 21-23, 21-14; Neysa Cariappa A bt Riddhi S Shah 21-16, 11-21, 21-19. Doubles final: Gayathri Rani Jaiswal/ Karnika Sree S bt Deekshita S/ Vibha Koundinya 21-4, 21-3. Semifinals: Gayathri Rani Jaiswal/ Karnika Sree S bt Gauri V Rao/ Rakshita A 21-19, 21-18; Deekshita S/ Vibha Koundinya bt Bhuvana M/ Shriya K 22-20, 21-18.

Comments (+)