Varsities can present honorary doctorates to only three

After a hue and cry from intellectuals and media over the qualification and number of people chosen for the presentation of honorary doctorates by universities in the State, the government has now decided to streamline the process of selection.

A uniform and transparent rule will be in place to be followed by all universities while presenting honorary doctorates and will be restricting the number to three.
Both the Houses of the Legislature have criticised the manner in which the names are chosen to present the degrees.

The Karnataka State Higher Education Council, which met on August 11 this year, also took an exception to it.

The Council finally wrote to the government on August 22, recommending a uniform and transparent rule to be necessarily followed by all universities while presenting honorary doctorates.

Following this, a circular was issued by the Higher Education department principal secretary to vice-chancellors of all 17 universities in the State, instructing them to follow the same strictly from the current year.

Speaking to Deccan Herald, Poonacha Tambanda, Vice-Chancellor of Hampi Kannada University, said that the university had already received the circular and will be implementing it in toto.

However, with regard to the implementation of other rules and regulations, the university will be discussing with the Higher Education department, he added.
DH News Service

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0