Tour of Nilgiris to commence on Dec 16

Cycling enthusiasts in the Garden City will have another event to look forward to when the Montra Tour of Niligiris gets flagged off on December 16.

Into its seventh year, the Tour will see 81 top riders from India and abroad vie for top honours in an event spread over eight enthralling days of cycling action.

The race, which is expected to be over 900 kms, will travel through the hilly terrain in three states — Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and Kerala — including the tea gardens in Ooty and Munnar.

“The seventh edition of the Tour will go through some of the most beautiful and exotic climbing stretches in the world.

While the difficult course of the race will test the skill and preparedness of the riders, it will also be a welcome change for many from the congested city traffic life,” said the Tour Director, Badrinath Sastry, at a press conference here on Friday.

The tour will feature four fast paced segments to determine the fastest cyclist of the stage, apart from the showpiece of the event, the Kalhatti Ghat climb, the winner of which will win the King and the Queen of the mountain titles.

The time trial, which begins on Tuesday, will travel through Kanakapura making its way into the royal city of Mysuru on day one, with a 15 kms sprint stretch form Halaguru to Malavalli deciding the fastest cyclist of the stage.

The tour will then see cyclists pedal all the way from Mysusu to Bandipur, Ooty, Palakkad and Valparai making their way through few of the well know wildlife sanctuaries like the Mudumalai National Park, Mukurthi National Park and Chinar national Park; and also the tea estates before reaching Munar.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0