Jharkhand records over one-third polling till 11 a.m.

Jharkhand records over one-third polling till 11 a.m.

Jharkhand recorded over one-third voting in the four hours till 11 a.m. in 16 assembly constituencies in the last round of the five-phased election in the state, an official said.

"The highest polling percentage was recorded in Pakur with 41 percent and the lowest was in Godda with 27 percent till 11 a.m.," said an election official.

"The voters turned up in large numbers in many polling booths and we hope the voting percentage will be around 70 percent in the final phase of the election," he said.

The fate of 208 candidates, including 16 women will be decided by 36,90,069 voters, including 19,04,011 men and 17,84,846 women. Polling is taking place at 3,773 polling booths.

The voting started at 7 a.m. and will end at 3 p.m.
Of the total booths, 833 booths have been declared as very sensitive, while another 1,496 have been declared sensitive. Around 22,240 personnel have been deployed in the state for the fifth phase of the election.

Of the 16 seats, seven seats are reserved for the Schedule Tribes.

The fate of Chief Minister Hemant Soren of the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), will be decided in this phase. Soren, who is the sitting legislator from the Dumka constituency, is contesting from both Dumka and Barhet constituencies.

In the 2009 assembly polls, the JMM had won nine seats while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had two seats.

Among other prominent candidates are Jharkhand assembly Speaker Shashank Shekhar Bhokta, Minister Lobin Hembrom, Sita Soren, who is the daughter-in-law of Shibu Soren and sister-in-law of the state chief minister,

BJP national secretary Louise Marandi, Hemlal Murmu, former minister Simon Marandi and Jharkhand Vikas Morcha principal general secretary Pradeep Yadav.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0