Mumbai set to enter title round

The deadly spell of 5.3-3-9-5 by the India discard soon after lunch triggered a dramatic collapse as Delhi, replying to Mumbai’s huge first innings total of 500, lost their last six wickets for the addition of only 23 runs in 20.3 overs.

Mumbai, who did not enforce the follow on, were 123 for four in their second innings at close of play.

Powar, who ended up with 5 for 47, was given good support on a spinning Brabourne Stadium track by left-arm spinner Iqbal Abdulla. Powar’s victims included Delhi’s captain and main hope Rajat Bhatia.

It was the dismissal of Bhatia, who was bowled after a defiant 85, that started the Delhi slide.

Mumbai (I innings): 500
Delhi (I innings) (Overnight 85-3): M Tehlan c Khanvilkar b Malvi 5; S Dhawan c Samant b Agarkar 44; A Jain lbw Agarkar 11; M Manhas b Salvi 5; R Bhatia b Powar 85; G Chabra lbw Abdulla 45; P Bisht b Powar 0; P Sangwan c Khanvilkar b Powar 0; I Sharma st Samant b Powar 1; P Awana c Jaffer b Powar 11; V Mishra (not out) 0; Extras (NB 3, W 1) 4. Total (all out in 80.3 overs) 211.

Fall of wickets: 1-13, 2-24, 3-35, 4-99, 5-188, 6-188, 7-192, 8-200, 9-204 Bowling: A Agarkar 16-4-48-3, U Malvi 13-3-38-1, A Salvi 14-5-21-1-, A Nayar 6-0-22-0, R Powar 15.3-4-47-5, I Abdulla 16-5-35-1.

Mumbai (II innings): S Kukreja b Mishra 71; W Jaffer c Bisht b Mishra 20; A Rahane c Sangwan b Jain 1; O Khanvilkar (batting) 15; I Abdulla (batting) 0; Extras (B 8, LB 4, NB 3, W 1) 16. Total (for 4 wkts, in 33 overs) 123. 

Fall of wickets: 1-50, 2-53, 3-119, 4-119.
Bowling: P Sangwan 6-0-21-0, P Awana 3-2-1-0, I Sharma 2-0-10-0, V Mishra 11-3-32-3, P Jain 8-2-36-1, M Tehlan 3-0-11-0.

Assembly elections 2019 | Get the latest news, views and analysis on elections in Haryana and Maharashtra on

For election-related news in Maharashtra, click here

For election-related news in Haryana, click here

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)