Konkani awards for Shenoy, Mahale, Nayak

Konkani awards for Shenoy, Mahale, Nayak

Padma Shenoy of Mangaluru, Gajanana Mahale of Dharwad and Koni Sheshagiri Nayak of Mangaluru will be conferred the Karnataka Konkani Sahitya Academy honorary awards 2014 for their achievement in the field of literature, folk and art.

Book prizes will be given to Naveen Kumbirl of Kinnigoli, Dr Nagesh Kumar G Rao of Manipal and J V Carlo of Hassan. The youth honour 2014 will be conferred on Ashwin M Prabhu of Mysuru, Prajwal M Nayak of Bengaluru and Arun Nayak of Dharwad.

Karnataka Konkani Sahitya Academy president Roy Castelino told reporters here on Monday that the award ceremony will be held at Ravindra Kalakshetra in Bengaluru on January 18.

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah will give away the awards. Minister for Transport Ramalinga Reddy will be the chief guest. The award will carry a cash prize of Rs 10,000 and a citation.

About awardees
Castelino said Padma Shenoy, who has written more than 30 books in Kannada, was more active in Konkani literature these days. She has authored a Konkani novel ‘Vyshakha Pulloh’ and presided over many Konkani poets’ meets.

Gajanana Mahale is a renowned makeup artiste who has worked for many dances, hundreds of plays and movies. He has also acted in ‘Chamatkara’ movie of Suresh Heblikar and ‘Singaravva’ of T S Nagabharana. Mahale has given a folk touch to the art of makeup.

Koni Sheshagiri Nayak has written and directed many Konkani dramas in the past four decades.