CM's MLC referrals opposed

CM's MLC referrals opposed

BSYs choice of nominations runs into rough weather

Sources said that the Chief Minister on Tuesday finalised the list and requested a minister to submit it to Raj Bhavan on Wednesday. On learning about it, a BJP leader raised serious objection about the selections including Somanna, following which the Chief Minister had to withhold the list. Somanna was defeated in the by-election to the Assembly last year.

The State Cabinet had authorised the Chief Minister to nominate persons of his choice to the Council. But now some of the senior BJP MLAs are arguing that the core committee of the BJP should make the selection.

The Chief Minister, it is said is also in favour of appointing Araga Jnanendra, former MLA, as the State party president in place of D V Sadananda Gowda, whose term has ended. Jnanendra hails from Teerthahalli in Shimoga district.

A section of the BJP MLAs are opposed to this decision of the Chief Minister as well. They have been demanding that a Scheduled Caste leader should become the president. However, the date for election is yet to be finalised.

On Wednesday, Chief Minister Yeddyurappa told reporters that he would work towards appointing new chairpersons to boards and corporations only after the budget session of the Legislature.

Replying to questions by media persons in Bangalore, the Chief Minister said he would not seek the resignation of the chairpersons until March end.

The entire State has responded to the miseries faced by the victims of the recent floods. The help continues to pour in. Soon a review meeting will be held in this regard, said Yeddyurappa.