CM constituency gets separate police station

CM constituency gets separate police station

Varuna hobli that gained prominence after Siddaramaiah became the Chief Minister, will soon be getting a dedicated police station. The new station will be carved out of the existing South station.

Superintendent of Police Abhinav Khare who held a meeting of officials at his office in this regard on Friday, is understood to have asked them to be make preparations ahead of opening the new facility.

The existing Megalapura police outpost on Mysuru-T Narsipur road, currently under its home station South (popularly known as Mysuru rural station) will be upgraded to a full-fledged station. 

It will be named after Varuna hobli, also the name of the constituency represented by the chief minister in the Legislative Assembly.

The new station follows a demand from a section of villagers during the Janaspandana Sabhe organised by the district police at Varuna after Siddaramaiah took charge.

The villagers had complained that the existing South (Rural) police station under which Megalapura outpost is functioning, was overburdened due to the stretched jurisdiction. Following this, SP Khare had submitted a proposal to the government along with separate traffic station at Nanjangud.

The Nanjangud station was commissioned two months ago and Varuna is next, said a source in the Police department. After upgrading the facility, Megalapura outpost that currently has 31 villages, including CM's native Siddaramanahundi in its jurisdiction, will be expanded. 

As many as 17 more villages have been identified to be included under the new station covering the area starting from Vajamangala gate from Mysuru side, up to the border of T Narsipur taluk, Suttur and Bannur road. It is currently managed by four constables and one head constable (as station house officer).

At present the South police station headed by circle inspector cadre official has 88 villages under its limits, including three outposts at Megalapura, Kadakola and Rammanahalli. Two police stations under South, located at Yelwal and Jayapura are headed by sub-inspector cadre officials . On an average 400 to 500 cases are reported per year, at the main station.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)