Yokohama unveils new rally team

Team Yokohama on Tuesday unveiled their team for the 2015 season of the Indian Rally Championship, which begins on June 12 with the first round scheduled in Nashik.

The team, led by some of the experinced racers in the circuit, will be competeing in the 2000 CC and the 1600 CC categories.

In the 2000 CC, defending champions Rahul Kantraj and Vivek Bhatt will once again lead the team’s charge, while in the 1600 CC the team will have Bengaluru’s Karna Kadur and M Chandrashekar. The Bengaluru-based Kantraj and Bhatt are expected to bring in experience with their skill and speed as they try to defend their crown in the 2000 CC in a new and improved Mitsubishi Cedia.

“It feels great to be a part of this (Yokohama) team. We know that a lot is expected from us this season. Being the defending champions in our category, this was bound to happen. But, I can assure you that we are ready for the challenge,” said Kantraj, who was also the best diver in the 2000 CC category. “We began our preparation in March and this time we have a car which caters to our needs and can give us the best performance we are looking for. So, with all the aspects put together, I believe it will be a great season,” said the Chikkamagaluru racer.

In the 1600 CC, the team will have a new pair in Kadur and Chandrashekar. Kadur is a two-time national champion and with over 80 podium finishes to his name, his experience and ability to handle the new car will play a key role in the team’s success. “It is never an easy task when two new drivers come together for the first time. But, we have known each other for a long time and have also competed against each other in the past. I believe our rally experience will come in handy this time around,” said the Kadur who will be driving a Volkswagen Polo.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)