Starc strikes as Aus make inroads

West Indies slip to 72/7 in pursuit of visitors' target of 392

Starc strikes as Aus make inroads

 Australia closed in on a 2-0 series sweep as the West Indies, chasing 392 to win, were reeling at 72 for seven at lunch on the fourth day of the second and final Test at Sabina Park on Sunday.

Earlier the visitors declared their second innings at 212 for two on day 3, with openers Shaun Marsh (69), David Warner (62) and vice-captain Steve Smith (54 n.o.) slamming half centuries.

Mitchell Starc then started the rout by dismissing both openers in the first over of the innings before the hosts ended  on 16 for two.

On Sunday, Starc got the ball rolling again for the tourists when he bowled Shane Dowrich off his pads after 19 minutes' play.

Josh Hazlewood lifted his match haul to seven wickets in removing Darren Bravo and Jermaine Blackwood.

Despite struggling to find his rhythm throughout the match, Mitchell Johnson joined the rampant wicket-takers when he breached the defence of Shai Hope for the sixth wicket of the innings.

Jason Holder failed to have any impact the second time around.
With his captain, Denesh Ramdin, offering a measure of resistance at the other end, the promising all-rounder pushed a straightforward catch to Starc at short midwicket off Shane Watson 15 minutes before the interval.

Ramdin was on 19 with Veersasammy Permaul at the other end as the West Indies seek to gain a measure of respectability given that the target is well and truly out of their reach.

score board

AUSTRALIA (I Innings): 399

WEST INDIES (I Innings): 220
Marsh c Holder b Permaul    69
Warner c Ramdin b Roach    62
Smith (not out)    54
Clarke (not out)    14
Extras (B-9, LB-4)    13
Total (decl for 2 wkts; 65 overs)    212
Fall of wickets: 1-117, 2-163.
Bowling: Taylor 10-2-24-0, Roach 9-2-26-1, Permaul 21-3-83-1, Holder 10-2-24-0, Brathwaite 11-3-23-0, Blackwood 4-1-19-0.


Brathwaite b Starc    0
Chandrika c Marsh b Starc    0
Bravo c Marsh b Hazlewood    11
Dowrich b Starc    4
Hope b Johnson    16
Blackwood b Hazlewood    0
Ramdin (batting)    19
Holder c Starc b Watson    1
Permaul (batting)    9
Extras (B-5, LB-5, W-2)    12
Total (for 7 wkts; 34 overs)    72
Fall of wickets: 1-0, 2-1, 3-20, 4-27, 5-33, 6-55, 7-62.
Bowling: Starc 10-5-19-3, Hazlewood 7-4-9-2, Lyon 6-2-12-0, Johnson 7-1-19-1, Watson 4-2-3-1.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)