Anna Bhagya scheme: Ragi to be distributed from July

The millet to be given along with rice in 10 districts

Come July, Ragi will be distributed under Anna Bhagya scheme in 10 districts, including Mysuru, Mandya and Chamarajanagar, said Food and Civil Supplies Minister Dinesh Gundurao, here, on Thursday.

Addressing the gathering, during ‘Hasirinedaege Namma Nadige, Namma Aahara: Namma Bhavishya’ a series of programme launched to spread the cause of good food, organised by the Zilla Panchayat and Food and Civil Supplies department, the minister said, “Instead of wheat, being distributed along with three kg rice under the scheme at present, two kg ragi will be distributed per unit”.

Following the announcement of minimum support price (MSP) of Rs 2,000 per quintal of ragi in the year 2014-15, the government has received 13.80 lakh quintals of the grain. In the interest of farmers who were given better price and later for the consumers, who should be provided with nutritious food, it has been decided to distribute ragi that is also more nutritious than rice and wheat, the minister said.

Answering to a media query on the decision to distribute jowar along with rice at the districts in north Karnataka, the minister clarified that there was a lukewarm response to jowar unlike ragi. The government has in its stock jowar that could be distributed up to maximum one montht for four to five taluks in a district. Following this, it has been decided to distribute jowar in two districts each at Dharwad and Gadag districts.

The minister also clarified that complaints related to ration cards issued in the place of Anthyodaya cards earlier will be rectified soon. It has come to the notice of the department that card holders are crying foul.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)