Chief ministers to meet on Swachh Bharat today

Chief ministers to meet on Swachh Bharat today

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu will preside over the meeting of the Sub-Group of Chief Ministers on Swachh Bharat Mission in Bengaluru on Wednesday.

The meeting will be held from 11 am to 1.30 pm at the Vidhana Soudha. This is the third such meeting and will discuss the ways and means to achieve universal sanitation coverage, improve cleanliness and to make India open-defection free by 2019 as a tribute to the 150th birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi. The first meeting was held on April 30 at New Delhi, and the second was held on May 19 at Chandigarh.

Chief ministers of Karnataka, West Bengal, Bihar, Maharashtra, Uttarakhand, Haryana, New Delhi, Sikkim and Mizoram were scheduled to participate. However, chief ministers Nitish Kumar, Mamata Banerjee, Arvind Kejriwal and Pawan Kumar Chamling will not be coming.

Irrigation Minister O P Shankar will represent Haryana CM Manohar Lal Khattar and Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis will be represented by Urban Development Minister Ranjit Patil. While Mizoram CM Lal Thanhawla has already arrived in the City, Naidu will arrive on Wednesday morning by a chartered flight. Chief Executive Officer of NITI Aayog Sindhushree Khuller and IAS officer Navraj Sindhu from Haryana will also participate.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)