Sugar cane farmers should get dues by Sunday, says Shettar

Sugar cane farmers should get dues by Sunday, says Shettar

Leader of Opposition in the Legislative Assembly Jagadish Shettar cried foul on Thursday and said that the party will ensure the legislature session in Belagavi does not commence if the government does not pay dues to sugarcane farmers by June 28.
The legislature session is scheduled to be held in Belagavi from June 29.

Speaking to reporters in Bengaluru, Shettar termed the government’s decision to seize sugar in 45 factories and auction it to recover the dues an “eye wash”. “It is evident that Wednesday’s meeting between the government and representatives of sugar factory owners was staged. The government had given an assurance in November that dues to farmers would be given within two months.

But nothing fruitful has come out of it. The government has succumbed to the sugar factory owners lobby”,  Shettar said. He said that under the provisions of the Karnataka Sugarcane (Regulation of Purchase and Supply) Act, 2013, the government can file criminal cases against sugarcane factory owners who fail to pay dues to farmers. However, not a single case has been filed, he added.

The total of Rs 4, 500 crore is to be paid, including Rs 960 crore for the current year. “The government should ensure farmers get their due at least for the current year by June 28 or we will intensify our agitation”, he said.

 Shettar said that BJP leaders will take out a 20-km padayatra in Belagavi on June 28  to highlight the plight of sugarcane farmers.

The party will also seek the resignation of Minor Irrigation Minister Shivaraj Thangadagi as his name is linked to  the murder of Yallalinga Kuruba, a student from Kanakaapura village in Kanakagiri assembly constituency.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)