O P Rawat appointed new election commissioner

O P Rawat appointed new election commissioner

Om Prakash Rawat, a retired Indian Administrative Service officer of the 1977 batch, was on Thursday appointed new election commissioner.

Rawat, who retired as a secretary of the Union government last December, will join Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi and Election Commissioner A K Joti in the three-member poll-panel.

“The President is pleased to appoint Om Prakash Rawat, IAS (Madhya Pradesh 1977), as the Election Commissioner in the Election Commission with effect from the date he assumes the office,” said a statement released by the Union Ministry of Law and Justice.

With his appointment, the government filled up the last remaining vacancy in the Election Commission, which is set to announce the dates for the Bihar Assembly election

Rawat was born on December 2, 1953 and his tenure in the Election Commission will end in December 2018. A Chief Election Commissioner or an Election Commissioner has tenure of six years or till he or she attains the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.