State to e-auction leases for 14 'C' category mines

The State government on Tuesday issued fresh notification to e-auction leases for 14 ‘C’ category mines spread over Ballari and Chitradurga districts.

The government had earlier cancelled the notification issued on November 30 for auctioning 11 ‘C’ category mines to include three more mines, one in Ballari and two in Sandur, in the list of mines for the e-auction in first phase.

In accordance with the amendment made to the Mines and Minerals (Development and Regulation) Act, 1957, Mineral (Auction) Rules, 2015 and the Supreme Court ruling, the State government, in a first, has invited e-tenders for auctioning of 14 ‘C’ category mines. The successfull bidders can carry out mining operations in the notified areas for 50 years.

The mine areas of Hottur Traders and Karthikeya Minerals have been kept out of the auction process in the wake of allegations by Archaeological Survey of India that these two mines are located in the areas of protected monuments of Kumaraswamy and Parvathi temples in Sandur. But both the areas have been included in the auction process as per the fresh notification issued by the government.

With the addition of three new mining areas, the area under ‘C’ category mines for e-auctioning has been increased from 626.14 hectares to 718.88 hectares. Also, the target for iron ore production has been enhanced from 14.8183 crore tonnes to 19.5905 crore tonnes following the addition of three more mine areas in Ballari and Sandur.
Details of e-auction process, dates and extent of mine areas among others can be had on website

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0