Kirti Chakra for martyr in Pathankot attack

Kirti Chakra for martyr in Pathankot attack

Recognising valour: Soldier who died in Kupwara ambush gets Ashoka Chakra

Kirti Chakra for martyr in Pathankot attack

Sepoy Jagdish Chand who killed a terrorist bare-handed while defending the Pathankot airbase has been awarded the Kirti Chakra – the second highest peace time gallantry award.

Sepoy Jagdish Chand from the Defence Service Corps was posted at Pathankot airbase when six heavily armed terrorists entered the compound and opened fire on the unarmed DSC guards.

Chand, a former Army soldier and wrestler, chased and overpowered one of the terrorists and killed him with his own rifle. Unfortunately Chand was gunned down by other terrorists.

On the eve of the Republic Day, Chand has been chosen for Kirti Chankra posthumously.

Ashoka Chakra, the nation’s highest peacetime gallantry award went to Lance Naik Mohan Nath Goswami from 9 Para, who was killed in an ambush in Kupwara in September, 2015.

Unmindful of personal safety, Lance Naik Mohan not only killed two terrorists in a daring operation, but also assisted in neutralising the other two and save the lives of three of his wounded colleagues. The brave heart succumbed to the injuries he received in the gun battle.

Subedar Mahendra Singh from the same unit (9 unit), who accompanied Lance Naik Mohan in the operation was another recipient of Kirti Chakra. Two other recipients of Kirti Chakra from the police force are Rajesh Atra, head constable and Gautam Koch, who got it posthumously.

Eight armymen received the Shaurya Chakra and three of them — Colonel Santosh Yashwant Mahadik from 41 Rashtriya Rifle (Para), Naik Satish Kumar from 21 Rashtriya Rifle (Guards) and Sepoy Dharma Ram from 1 Rashtriya Rifle (Mahar) – got it posthumously.

Other Shaurya Chakra recipients are Major Praphul Kumar Bhardwaj (12 Para); Major Anurag Kumar (9 Para), Major Sandip Yadav, 55 Rashtriya Rifle (Armed), Lieutenant Harjinder Singh (3 Kumaon), Naik Kheem Singh Mehra (21 Kumaon).