JD(S) holds on to Hassan, Mandya

Last Updated 23 February 2016, 20:13 IST

The results of the elections have proved that former prime minister H D Deve Gowda and his family members still have a hold on Hassan and Mandya districts with the party emerging victorious and gaining a majority.

In Hassan, JD(S) has won the ZP and TP polls with a majority. But, compared to the previous elections, it has suffered a setback, losing a few seats to the Congress.

In the previous ZP polls, out of 40 seats, JD(S) had won 33, Congress two and BJP five seats. But this year, it lost 10 seats and had to be content with 23 seats, With BJP also losing four seats, Congress has won 16 seats.

In the previous TP polls, JD(S) had won a total of 111 seats in eight TPs, Congress 23 and BJP 12 seats. This year, the JD(S) has won 86, Congress 57, BJP and independents four each. Out of eight TPs, JD(S) is set to gain power in five, Congress in two and there is a hung verdict in Sakleshpur TP.


As anticipated, the JD(S) achieved an hat-trick, by winning the ZP polls with a clear majority in Mandya.

Out of 41 ZP seats, JD(S) won 27, Congress 13 and JD(S) rebel one. The results have proved that the district is still a strong fort of the JD(S).

The party has also won a clear majority in five TPs, out of seven. Congress has won Malavalli TP and it is a hung house in Srirangapatna.

The defeat of D T Santosh, Maddur MLA D C Thammanna’s son, by Congress candidate Annuru Rajiv, has come as a surprise.

(Published 23 February 2016, 20:13 IST)

Follow us on