Sanjay Desai is KSCA interim prez

Sanjay Desai is KSCA interim prez

Former Karnataka opener and one of Karnataka State Cricket Association’s long-serving administrators, Sanjay Desai was elected as the interim president of the association at its Emergent Managing Committee meeting here on Thursday.

Desai is currently one of the two vice presidents, The post had fallen vacant after the incumbent, P R Ashokanand, had demitted office following the Supreme Court’s verdict implementing the R M Lodha Committee recommendations.

Another vice president, R Sudhakar Rao, replaced Brijesh Patel as the secretary, while senior life member of the Managing Committee, Srinivas Murthy, was handed the treasurer’s post, which had been vacated by Dayanand Pai.

While Ashokanand and Pai had to quit, as both are above 70, the age limit set by the Lodha panel to hold an office, Brijesh’s exit was because he has been an office-bearer for more than nine years.

According to the Lodha panel report, a person can be in office for a maximum of three terms of three years each.

Consequently, Desai and Rao resigned as state senior selection committee members and were replaced by former Karnataka left-arm spinner Raghuram Bhat and former wicketkeeper-batsman Tilak Naidu. Bhat will be the chairman of the committee, a position held by Rao previously. The other two members of the four-member panel – Fazal Khaleel and Dodda Ganesh – will continue in their positions.

“We have referred the matter to our legal committee and will see what is applicable to the state associations,” said Vinay Mruthyunjaya, KSCA spokesperson.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)