BJP moves EC; wants chief secy, DGP out

BJP moves EC; wants chief secy, DGP out

The BJP on Monday moved the Election Commission, demanding the replacement of Uttar Pradesh Chief Secretary Rahul Bhatnagar and Director General of Police Javeed Ahmed to ensure free and fair elections in the state.

A party delegation comprising Union Ministers Venkaiah Naidu, Nirmala Sitharaman and Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi met poll officials at the Nirvachan Sadan here and complained that the chief secretary and the police chief were acting in a partisan manner.

Guns for top cop too

The BJP  also demanded the removal of Additional Director General of Police (Law and Order) Daljit Singh Chaudhary.

Naidu told journalists that the recent spurt in crime in the state and the manner in which  anti-social elements were allowed to unleash a reign of terror on behalf of the Samajwadi Party clearly proved that some top officials in the government machinery and police department were “hand in glove with the ruling party”.

The BJP delegation met Chief Election Officer M Nasim Zaidi, Election Commissioners A K Joti and O P Rawat.

The BJP also demanded that the district magistrates of Rampur, Firozabad and Meerut be replaced as they were all acting in a partisan manner.

The party also asked the poll panel to ensure the deployment of Central paramilitary forces in the sensitive districts during the polls.

The first of seven phases of polling will take place on February 11 and the counting of votes on March 11.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)