BJP workers urged to take bypolls as a challenge

BJP workers urged to take bypolls as a challenge

Yeddyurappa to tour Nanjangud constituency on Sunday

BJP state general secretary and former minister Aravind Limbavali called upon the party workers to take the bypolls of Nanjangud and Gundlupet Assembly constituencies as a challenge.

He was addressing the party workers during the ‘Swabhimani Sammilana Samevesha’, organised by the BJP city (district) unit at Jayamma Govindegowda Convention Hall here on Saturday. He said, the BJP workers should remain united and make sincere efforts to ensure party candidates’ victory in twin constituencies, he said.

Limbavali said, senior leaders in Congress are being sidelined and thus many are turning towards the BJP. “With V Srinivas Prasad contesting on BJP ticket from Nanjangud Assembly constituency, the party has gained base in the region. The party will treat Prasad in a most respectful manner. The Congress has never worked for the welfare of Dalits. It had disrespected the Dalit leader of the stature of Dr B R Ambedkar and had also ensured Babasaheb’s defeat in the elections,” he said.

Limbavali said, BJP state unit president B S Yeddyurappa will tour Nanjangud on Sunday.
Addressing the gathering, Prasad said, the by-eletion to Nanjangud is a tug-of-war between him and Chief Minister Siddaramaiah. “I had thought of retiring from politics in a respectful manner. But, the CM and Congress party insulted by dropping me from the Cabinet unceremoniously. I was hurt and quit as MLA and from Congress party,” he said.

Prasad said, Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s demonetisation move was projected as a wrong decision. Demonetisation did not have an impact on the elections in the five states which was evident in the outcome, he said.

He said, the Congress party has failed to announce it’s candidate even after the poll schedue was declared. The posts of the presidents of block committees are lying vacant in the constituency, he added.

Nearly 400 supporters of Prasad joined the BJP on the occasion, and celebrated the BJP’s victory in the elections by busting crackers.

BJP city (district) unit president Dr B H Manjunath, rural (district) unit president M Shivanna, leaders H V Rajeev, S A Ramdas, K R Mohan Kumar, C Basavegowda, and V Ramaswamy were present.