SUCC (1) emerge champs

SUCC (1) emerge champs

Cricket: KSCA T20:

SUCC (1) emerge champs

Champions: Swastic Union CC (1), winners of the KSCA Twenty20 tournament in Bangalore on Sunday. STANDING (from left): Bharath Chipli, Amit Verma, Udit Patel, CM Gautam, Vinoo Narayanan, Mayank Agarwal, Irfan Sait (assistant secretary), Chetan William, Mahadev, SL Akshay, R Jonathan. (SITTING): Rajoo Bhatkal, NC Aiyappa, Devraj Patil, Sunil N, Yuvraj, Karthikeyan. DH photo

In a final of fluctuating fortunes, William gave Swastic the final impetus to translate a middling total into a challenging 167 for nine, and experienced paceman Aiyappa held his nerve at the finish when Jawans needed 21 off the last over to see his team home.

Put in to bat, Swastic overcame a mid-innings crisis at 100 for six to race to 167 for nine, William smashing four sixes and three fours in his 23-ball 48 not out. In reply, Jawans settled for 154 for seven when they ran out of time, Aiyappa finishing with three for 18 from four tidy overs.

The Swastic innings got off to a poor start with Devraj Patil being run out in the second over, and despite handy contributions from opener Bharath Chipli (27) and skipper CM Gautam, they were staring down the barrel at 100 for six when William walked in to bat.
Having set himself up nicely, William positively exploded in the final over of the innings, smashing David Mathias for 23 runs to ensure that his bowlers had something to work with.
Jawans too began scratchily when Aiyappa knocked over Nishanth Singh Shekhawat in the first over.

Mayank Agarwal and Ganesh Satish (41) were stabilising the innings when Aiyappa struck again, having the former well caught by Udit Patel, to give Swastic the ascendancy.

Satish made 41 and Rahul Bhatkal, walking out at number six, blasted six fours and three sixes during the course of his 58, but Swastic handled the key moments better to come out deserving winners, Aiyappa conceding just seven off the last over of the match which began with Jawans needing 21 for an improbable victory.

Brief scores: Swastic Union CC (1): 167/9 in 20 overs (Bharath Chipli 27, Chethan William 48 n.o.; Steve Lazarus 2-24) bt Jawans Cricket Club: 154/7 in 20 overs (Ganesh Satish 41, Rahul Bhatkal 58; NC Aiyappa 3-18, Rajoo Bhatkal 2-33).