Former IAS officer Sreenivasa Murthy 6th pay panel chief

Former IAS officer Sreenivasa Murthy 6th pay panel chief

The state government has appointed former IAS officer M R Sreenivasa Murthy as chairman of the Sixth Pay Commission.

Other appointments made on the commission are — retired IAS officer Md Sanuallah, member; retired controller, state accounts department, R S Phonde, member and Commissioner of Excise, M Manjunath Naik, secretary — according a government notification.

The commission has to submit its report within four months, according to the terms of reference set for the panel.

The Siddaramaiah government had made an announcement in the current year’s budget that a pay commission would be constituted to look into the demands of the state government employees for revised salaries. There are nearly 5.90 lakh employees who would benefit from the new pay structure.

Murthy was additional chief secretary in 2010 when he resigned from service. He quit a week before his retirement and accepted the post of chairman, Karnataka Electricity Regulatory Commission. He demitted office in 2015.

The government has so far constituted five pay commissions from 1966 and two pay committees.
The terms of reference for the Sixth Pay Commission include examining the present pay structure of state government employees, aided educational institutions, local bodies and non-teaching staff of universities. The panel has to examine and determine the dearness allowance formula to be adopted and suggest changes in the pension pattern.

The commission, while making the recommendations, should keep in view the resources of the state government and its commitment to  various works.