Sharan wears boys' crown; Manasa wins

 Both Sharan and Anantharam were tied on seven points after the eighth and final round, but the former was declared the winner as he had a better tie-break score. Arjun Bharat was third with 6.5 points.

In the girls’ section, Manasa HR of Mysore, Panchami Shenoy of Mangalore and Sharanya V of Bangalore were tied for the top slot with five points each after six rounds. Manasa took top honours on a better tie-break score. Panchami grabbed the second spot while Sharanya finished behind her.

Sharan, Anantharam, Manasa and Panchami will represent Karnataka in the upcoming National under-11 chess championship.

Final standings: Boys: Sharan Rao (Mangalore, 7) 1; Anantharam R U (Mangalore, 7) 2; Arjun Bharat (Bangalore, 6.5) 3; Arjun Adappa (Mangalore, 6) 4; Nikhilesh M (Mangalore, 6) 5; Daniel Marc D'souza (Mangalore, 6) 6; Fayzan Rouf (Bangalore, 6) 7; Yashaskara R Jois (Mysore, 5.5) 8; Vivekraj (Hassan, 5.5) 9; Rajath Rao K N ( Mangalore, 5.5) 10; Ankit N Mahesh (Shimoga, 5.5) 11; Prabhanjan LS (Bangalore, 5.5) 12.
Girls: Manasa HR (Mysore, 5) 1; Panchami Shenoy K (Mangalore, 5) 2; Sharanya V (Bangalore, 5) 3; Akshatha R (Shimogga, 4.5) 4; Ananya S (Madikeri, 4.5) 5; Tulsi M (Mysore, 4) 6; Hanan Rouf (Bangalore, 4) 7; Reesha Shenoy (Mangalore, 4) 8; Prerana Rai (South Kanara, 4) 9; Ojasi Gopikrishna (Bangalore, 3) 10.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)