16-member squad for Ranji opener

Sharath the only new face for opening match

 Veteran medium pacer R Vinay Kumar was expectedly named skipper as there were no major surprises in the 16-member Karnataka squad for their opening Ranji Trophy fixture against Assam starting from October 14 in Mysuru.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Sharath Srinivas, who plays for Bangalore United Cricket Club, was the only new face in the squad. Top-order batsman Abhishek Reddy has made a comeback after missing the last season due to injury. Star batsman Karun Nair has not been included in the side as the right-hander will be doing the duty with India ‘A’ in the one-day series against New Zealand ‘A’.

Right-handed top-order batsman D Nischal, yet to play his first Ranji game, has also been picked.

Squad: R Vinay Kumar (captain), R Samarth, Mayank Agarwal, Abhishek Reddy, Mir Kaunain Abbas, Pavan Deshpande, Stuart Binny, C M Gautam (wk), K Gowtham, Shreyas Gopal, J Suchith, Ronit More, Sharath Srinivas (wk), Abhimanyu Mithun, S Arvind, D Nischal.

Assembly elections 2019 | Get the latest news, views and analysis on elections in Haryana and Maharashtra on DeccanHerald.com

For election-related news in Maharashtra, click here

For election-related news in Haryana, click here

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)