People called upon to join hands for progressive Karnataka

People called upon to join hands for progressive Karnataka

People called upon to join hands for progressive Karnataka

District in-charge minister T B Jayachandra has called upon people to join hands for transforming Karnataka as a progressive state.

Speaking after hoisting the flag at the Kannada Rajotsava celebrations at Mahatma Gandhi stadium here on Wednesday, the minister said that several people strove for the unification of Karnataka and the present generation should make all efforts to realise their aspirations for a developed and progressive Karnataka.

He suggested the young generation to know about the literature, culture and art of the land with a keen interest and shape their future as well as that of the state. He said that Kannada-speaking areas were spread into 19 different egions and they were united 61 years ago. The minister recalled the contributions of B M Srikantaiah, Shivamurthy Shastry, Tee Nam Srikantaiah, Sa Shi Marulaiah, Dr Dodda Rangegowda, Dr Baraguru Ramachandrappa, prof H G Sanna Guddaiah and V Chikkaveeraiah, all from Tumakuru, for the development of Kannada.

He said that Sira, Madhugiri and Pavagad taluks in Tumakuru district share borders with Andhra Pradesh and the government had taken all steps for the development of these areas. He explained about the various steps taken by the government for leading the state on the path of development.

Jayachandra said that there was a need to provide more preference for appointments to 'C' and 'D' grade posts in private companies and the government had taken steps in this direction.

S Rakesh of government high school, Bhaktarahalli in Kunigal taluk, B L Lakshmeesh of government high school, Swandenahalli, Tumakuru taluk, K N Shamanth of Siddganga high school of Kallur in Gubbi taluk, S Tunga of government high school in Hanumanthapura of Tumakuru taluk, A M Bhumika of government high school, Sasalu village in Chikkanayakanahalli taluk and P Tejas of Siddaganga high school, Tumakuru, were felicitated on the occasion for securing highest marks.

Deputy commissioner K P Mohanraj, zilla panchayat chief executive officer K G Shantharam, Superintendent of Police Divya Gopinath, Lok Sabha member S P Muddahanume Gowda, legislator Dr Rafiq Ahmed, ZP president Latha Ravikumar were present on the occasion.

Various government offices, schools and institutions celebrated Kannada Rajyotsava in the city. Deputy Commissioner K P Mohan Raj flagged off the procession organised by the district administration to mark the occasion. Assistant Commissioner Tabassum Zahera, Palike commissioner Manjunathaswamy and others were present.

The occasion was also observed at the office of the Tumakuru Mahanagara Palike and Tumakuru Urban Development Authority.