BJP releases second list of 36 candidates

BJP releases second list of 36 candidates

BJP releases second list of 36 candidates

The BJP announced its second list of 36 candidates for the Gujarat Assembly elections, late on Saturday.

State party chief Jitu Vaghani said there are 29 new faces on the list. While the BJP had stuck to candidates' experience while announcing its first list of 70, it appears to have reverted to its earlier strategy of fielding new candidates with the second list. In 2007, the BJP had replaced about 30 candidates and in 2012, over 42 candidates were not repeated.

On the latest list, the party leadership dropped three sitting legislators and fielded new faces. Nirmala Wadhvani, the sitting legislator from Naroda constituency in Ahmedabad, has been replaced by Balram Thawani. There have been murmurs of protest against Wadhwani's work in the constituency for long.

Gujarat Home Minister Pradeepsinh Jadeja has been retained from Vatva constituency in Ahmedabad, even as Bhushan Bhatt, the son of former minister and party heavyweight Ashok Bhatt, has been repeated from Jamalpur-Khadia constituency in Ahmedabad.

Arvind Rana, a three-time corporator, has been made Surat (East) candidate. Banners had appeared in parts of the constituency, warning that parties won't get votes if they do not field a Muslim candidate.

Four more women have been fielded by the BJP in its second list, including Nimaben Acharya, the current legislator from Bhuj in Kutch district, Maltiben Maheshwari from Gandhidham (SC) who replaced her husband, Gitaben Jadeja from Gondal (her husband is in jail) and Hanskuvanrba Raj from Aanklav.

With this, the BJP has declared contestants for 106 out of total 182 seats.