E-way Bill trials begin; six more states participate

E-way Bill trials begin; six more states participate

E-way Bill trials begin; six more states participate

Heralding a new era in the movement of goods from one state to another, trial run for e-way bill under the GST regime kickstarted on Tuesday.

Four states -- Karnataka, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand and Kerala -- had already started using e-way Bill. on Tuesday, six more states started the trial runs. With this, E-Way Bill now covers 10 states.

"We had started e-way Bill in four states earlier. Now we have started the trial run of E-Way Bill in six more states-Haryana, Bihar, Maharashtra, Gujarat, Sikkim and Jharkhand. Other states are also likely to join us soon in this initiative and it will be implement it throughout the country from next month. Transporters and other taxpayers will not be required to visit any tax office or check post under this system and the e-way Bill can be generated electronically," Prakash Kumar, CEO, Goods and Services Tax Network (GSTN) said.

The e-way bill is proposed to be rolled out across the country from February 1, after which there will not be any need for separate transit pass in each state.

One e-way bill will be valid throughout India for movement of goods.

Under the new system, e-way bill will be mandatory for every inter-state movement of goods beyond 10 kilometre, which have a value of Rs 50,000 and above.

The e-way bill can be generated through various modes like Web (Online), Android App, SMS, API based site to site integration. Consolidated e-way bill can be generated for vehicle carrying multiple consignments.

There is provision for cancellation of e-way bill within 24 hours by the person, who has generated the same. The recipient can also reject the e-way bill within 72 hours of generation.

The validity of e-way Bill is fixed as one day for every 100 kilometre.