'Crime rate has declined by 1% in Karnataka'

'Crime rate has declined by 1% in Karnataka'

Home Minister Ramalinga Reddy has said that crime rate in Karnataka is less when compared to other states in India.

Speaking to reporters during his visit to Karnire near Mulki on Tuesday, he said that, according to National Crime Records Bureau, the crime rates in Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra are much higher than that of Karnataka. Karnataka is in the 10th position in the crime rate in the country.

He said that Union ministers like Prakash Javadekar have been claiming that the crime rate in Karnataka has increased, without going through the statistics from the NCRB. When the BJP was in power in Karnataka, the crime rate was 6% which has come down to 5% now, Reddy stated.

"The law and order situation in Karnataka is good. The police are functioning efficiently. It is the BJP that is instigating violence in Dakshina Kannada. If the organisations affiliated to the political parties keep silence, then there will be peace in the district," he said.

'Sponsored' bandhs

On BJP's allegation of Congress-sponsored bandh in Karnataka on January 25, he said, "It is the farmers and Kannada organisations that called for a bandh. Do they ask us while calling for a bandh? The state government has no connection with the bandh. We will provide all security measures for the BJP's scheduled programme."

To a query on transfer of Superintendent of Police Sudhir Kumar Reddy, he said, "Belagavi SP Ravikanthe Gowda has been serving in Belagavi for the last three years. The Election Commission of India (ECI) had directed the state government to strictly follow the rules pertaining to transfer and posting of its officials who are directly or indirectly connected with the process of conducting the upcoming elections to the State Assembly. As a result, Ravikanthe Gowda was transferred to Dakshina Kannada and Sudhir Kumar Reddy was transferred to Belagavi. As Reddy was an efficient officer, we have transferred him to a district where there are 18 Assembly constituencies."

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)