Deodhar Trophy: Karnataka hold nerve to clinch thriller

Deodhar Trophy: Karnataka hold nerve to clinch thriller

Karnataka registered a thrilling six-run win over India B in Deodhar Trophy at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association stadium here on Monday.

Spurred by R Samarth's 117 off 115 balls, Karnataka mustered 296/8 in 50 overs. But Manoj Tiwary (120) led the challenge of India B with a brilliant counter-attacking century after they were left reeling at 23/3, courtesy the new ball pair of Prasidh Krishna and T Pradeep.

In a match where momentum shifted rapidly, Tiwary first stitched together an 85-run stand for the third wicket with Shreyas Iyer (33) before nearly taking the contest away from Karnataka during his 133-run partnership for the fifth wicket with Siddesh Lad (70).

Tiwary, who had begun a bit slow at the start, stepped up and made Karnataka earn the victory. Leg-spinner Shreyas Gopal, introduced in the 38th over, turned the match on its head. He removed Tiwary, who was stumped, and Jayant Yadav, foxed by the googly, in successive deliveries of the 42nd over. It brought Karnataka back into the contest. And though India B, needing 11 runs off the last over, put up a fight, K Gowtham bowled an intelligent over, which included the wicket of Lad, to take Karnataka home.

Electing to bat, Karnataka opener Mayank Agarwal (44) once again gave a peek into his resplendent form. However, his fluent innings came to a halt when he cut a wide delivery of seamer Harshal Patel to be caught behind.

Samarth, however, pressed on undaunted. Karnataka lost wickets in regular intervals, but Samarth raised two crucial partnership with Pavan Deshpande (86 runs for third wicket) and later CM Gautam (54 runs for the fifth wicket) to ensure runs keep ticking in.

He brought up his century with a boundary to the extra cover fence before Patel rattled his middle stump with a slow full toss in the 48th over.