EPIC drive in DK from today

EPIC drive in DK from today

Addressing a news conference on Monday, Sharma said that as of now about 95,000 voters who names are in the list have ID cards without photographs in the district. Hence, a drive will be undertaken to upgrade the Id cards in the district.

“As many as 1,412 anganwadi workers, school teachers, municipality bill collectors will be deputed on duty to collect photographs (after filling EPIC 001B/ Form 8) for the ID. The drive will be held from June 1 to 10. Those who fail to provide the photos can even submit the same by June 15 to the volunteers,” Sharma said and added that the forms will be handed over to the agency and EPIC will be distributed to the voters on June 30.

Sharma informed that with 95 per cent distribution Udupi district stands first in the state in EPIC distribution while Dakshina Kannada stands second with 93 per cent.

Voters’ list revision
Sharma informed that the electoral roll will be revised in the district  and the schedule is as follows. The draft voters list will be displayed on June 21 at respective polling booths, office of voters’ registration officer and Assistant Voters registration officer. Voters can verify their names on the list. Those who have attained 18 years of age as on 01-01-2010 may register their names by submitting Form-6. In case of striking off names from the list owing to death or migration of voters relatives will have to submit Form 7, submit Form 8 to make corrections in the list.

Any claims and objections can  be filed on June 26 and on July 6. Booth level officers and agents will accept claims and objections on June 27 and on July 4 through a special andholan too. Final voters’ list will be out on July 30.

GP Reservations
Sharma informed that the reservation for the posts of Gram Panchayat Presidents and Vice-Presidents will be decided by the GP elected members. Belthangady taluk GP members will meet on June 2 at 10.30 am at Kinnamma Yane Gunavathiyamma Hall, Guruvayanakere to decide on reservation for GP Presidents and Vice-President for first term of 2010. Likewise members of Puttur taluk will meet on June 2 at Ton Hall Puttur at 3 pm.
Sullia taluk GP members will meet on June 3 at 10.30 am at KVG Hall, Sullia, Bantwal G members on June 4 at 10 am at Brahma Sri Narayana Mandir B C Road and members of Mangalore taluk on June 4 at Town hall Mangalore at 3 pm.
DH News Service