Sri Lanka stop fighting West Indies

Jayasuriya, Dilshan dazzle to inflict 15-run defeat on the Caribbeans

Sri Lanka stop fighting West Indies

Jayasuriya’s assault helped Sri Lanka notch up a formidable 192 for five after they were asked to bat first. The Lankan bowlers, especially spinners, were equally effective on the day as they restricted Windies to 177 for five.

The Matara batsman’s innings reminded fans of the days when he destroyed bowlers around the world with audacity. Jayasuriya indicated his mood by smashing Fidel Edwards for 17 runs in the paceman’s first over, and the left-hander rarely slipped down from overdrive during his innings.

Tillakaratne Dilshan was largely a mute spectator at the other end, joining the party with occasional hits to the fence. With Jayasuriya, who enjoyed a few slices of luck during his stay, in such mood, it was not necessary either for Dilshan to take any undue risks.
The opening partnership worth 124 runs in just 12.3 overs meant West Indies were always sailing against the wind. The Carribeans’ sloppy effort in the field did not help their cause too as there were innumerable fumbles and dropped catches.

Once Jayasuriya was dismissed, trapped in front of the wicket by West Indies’ most successful bowler of the day Lendl Simmons, Dilshan took up the lead role and with good success too. The Lankans lost a few wickets towards the end, but by then they had notched up a big total.

West Indies started their chase in a frenetic fashion but the introduction of spin stalled their progress.



Dilshan c Benn b Simmons    74
Jayasuriya lbw Simmons    81
Sangakkara c Fletcher b Simmons    5
Jayawardene c Ramdin b Simmons    4
Mubarak (not out)    8
Silva c Ramdin b Taylor    7
Mathews (not out)    3
Extras: (LB-5, W-4, NB-1)    10
Total: (for 5 wkts, 20 overs)    192
Fall of wickets: 1-124, 2-147, 3-168, 4-172, 5-189.
Bowling: Taylor 4-0-32-1, Edwards 2-0-37-0, Bravo 4-0-29-0, Benn 4-0-25-0, Pollard 3-0-45-0, Simmons 3-0-19-4.


Simmons c J’wardene b M’tharan    29
Fletcher b Malinga    13
Marshall c Silva b Mendis    14
Chanderpaul b Mendis    1
Sarwan (not out)    28
Bravo c Mubarak b Malinga    51
KA Pollard (not out)    19
Extras (LB-4, W-17, NB-1)    22     
Total (for 5 wkts, 20 overs)    177
Fall of wickets: 1-38, 2-70, 3-71, 4-73, 5-150.
Bowling: Jayasuriya 3-0-34-0, Malinga 4-0-45-2, Udana 4-0-36-0, Mendis 4-0-25-2, Muralitharan 4-0-21-1,  Mathews 1-0-12-0.

Comments (+)