Karnataka to extend drip irrigation scheme to entire state

Karnataka to extend drip irrigation scheme to entire state

Under the scheme, the government would grant 75 per cent subsidy to farmers who opt for water conserving method of irrigation for raising crops.The decision taken at the cabinet meeting,chaired by Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa, would cost the exchequer Rs 112 crore annually, Home minister Dr V S Acharya told reporters.

The cabinet approved bringing all private educational institutions started between 1987 to 1994 under grant-in-aid code, a measure that would cost Rs 125 crore However, he did not quantify the number of institutions that would benefit.

The cabinet decided to constitute a sub-committee to study and suggest ways of implementing the recommendations of the one-man judicial commission headed by retired judge K J Shetty which went into the June 10, 2008 police firing on farmers in Haveri in which two farmers were killed.

He said the Commission has in all made nine recommendations and felt that the stir in protest against short supply of fertlizers, which led to the firing, was "politically motivated".

Acharya said the Karnataka Horticultural Federation will procure and sell vegetables and fruits in nine districtrs of Mandya, Shimgoa, Chitradurga, Hubli, Dharwad, Belgaum, Tumkur, Davanagere and Gulbarga for which Rs five crore funds have been sanctioned.
In accordance with recommendations of Karnataka Foundation for Science and Technology headed by Prof C N R Rao, the government would provide Rs 10 lakh grant to each of the 30 Post Graduate level education institutes to upgrade laboratory equipment and Rs 20 lakh each to 10 institutions, he said.

It has been decided to increase the share capital of the Minority Development Corporation from Rs 60 crore to Rs 100 crore, he said.

A mini fishing jetty would be built at a cost of Rs 30 crore in Kodiyeri in Udupi district and Rs 10.45 crore has been sanctioned to set up 10 artificial insemination centres in eight districts of North Karnataka region, he said.The acting chairman of the Karnataka Administrative Tribunal A C Kabbin has been elevated as its chairman, he said.
Mulky and Moodabidri towns have been included under the jurisdiction of Mangalore Poilce Commissionerate, Acharya said.