Hectic parleying on to head BBMP panels

Governor okays 11 new committees; second rung leaders in fray

Second rung leaders like D Venkateshmurthy, C K Ramamurthy, L Srinivas, B V Ganesh and N Nagaraj have emerged as the probable choices since seniors P N Sadashiva and Katte Satyanarayana have already been elected as the chairman of the Taxation and Finance Committee and leader of the ruling party respectively. However, BJP sources stated the chairmen for for the newly-constituted 11 standing committees have been “almost” settled.

Hand-picked leaders

They are likely to be sworn in after the budget. It is said the party leadership has handpicked the chairmen.

 The post of chairman for newly-formed standing committee on Major Works is likely to be given to L Srinivas, corporator from Padmanabhanagar. While C K Ramamurthy from Pattabhiramnagar ward is expected to be he chairman for the Ward-Level Works Committee.

Standing Committee for Health  is expected to be headed by D Venkateshmurthy, corporator from Radhakrishna Temple ward. Senior leader B V Ganesh from Chamarajpet is likely to take either Social Justice or Education Committee. Sources said two ‘greenhorn corporators’ will take charge of either the Appeals, Marketing or Establishments and Administrative Reforms committees.

According to BJP sources, some of the leaders were forced to choose between the 11 other standing committees as against their first choice of the Standing Committee on Taxation and Finance.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)