SAI-Madikeri, Jhansi joint winners

Hockey: Munirathnamma emerges highest goal-scorer; DYSS Mysore finishes third

Evening showers filled the hockey grounds immediately after the third place tie-off between DYSS Mysore and SAI-Chennai.  After five-days of exciting hockey matches, the final ended on the ‘wet’ note.

Earlier, DYSS Mysore thrashed SAI-Chennai 11-0 in the third place tie-off held on Sunday.

DYSS Mysore was awarded a cash prize of Rs 10,000 while SAI-Chennai was awarded Rs 5,000. In a spectacular display, DYSS Mysore team started their goal-scoring spree with a goal from Harinakshi B S in the 6th minute. This was followed by six-goals from Munirathanamma (11, 24, 25, 34, 38, 48 minutes). Muthamma joined the goals-scorers list with two goals in the 10th and 33rd minute. Lakshmi (18th min) and Nandini (47th min) scored to take the scores to 11-0.


Munirathnamma was awarded a TVS Scooty pep for scoring highest 37 goals in six matches.
DH News service

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)