Combined City XI triumph

Cricket: SA Srinivasan memorial trophy: Combined Mofussil finish runners-up, fall short on run-rate

Combined City XI triumph

After gaining innings honours in their final league match against Combined Mofussil XI, Combined City were tied with Mofussil XI on points, but a better nett run-rate of 1.20 as against their rivals’ 0.77 clinched them the top place.

Combined City, guided by Sanjay Kumar’s 133, finished their 90-over stint at 452 for nine. Combined Mofussil were bundled out for a paltry 181 in 53.3 overs on the final day of the two-day encounter.

On another day of draws, Karun Nair of President’s XI lit up the scene with a sparkling double ton against Bangalore Zone.

Anil IG (3/35), R Prabhakar (3/10) and Shreyas Gopal (3/21) picked up three wickets each as President’s XI bundled out Bangalore Zone for a modest 202 in 64.2 overs.
President’s, riding on Karun Nair (211) and Shreyas Gopal’s 76-run effort, scored a commanding 405 for six in the allotted 90 overs. Bangalore Zone, in their second essay, registered 63 for no loss in 12 overs, but time could only permit a draw.

Brief scores: Combined City XI: 452/9 in 90 overs (Suraj Sampath 75, Sanjay Kumar 133, Giridhar Koppikar 78, Patrick Das 38, Naresh Reddy 47; Irshad Kattimani 5-98, Salauddin 2-122, Daniel Sequeria 2-68) drew Combined Moffusil XI: 181 all out in 53.3 overs (Ajay Patil 72, Eshwar Prasad 29; Naresh Reddy 3-55, Sanjay Kumar 2-12, Harshith Urs 5-48).
Moffusil XI: 228 all out in 79 overs (Raj Kumar 27, Nithin Bhille 84, Ganesh Aihole 37; Rajesh Singh 5-18, Anish DV 3-54) drew with Bangalore City XI: 132 all out in 57.2 overs (K Gautham 30; Parappa 6-54, Chethan 2-15). Bangalore Zone XI: 202 all out in 64.2 overs (Stalin Hoover 33, Arjun Hoysala 39, Nishanth Shekawath 39; Anil I G 3-35, R Prabhakar 3-10, Shreyas Gopal 3-21) and 63/0 in 12 overs (Manjunath Bhat 39 n.o.) drew President’s XI: 405/6 in 90 overs (Karun Nair 211, Shreyas Gopal 76, KV Siddharth 42, Dinesh Borwankar 26 n.o.; P Maghizhendan 3-77, Hardik Munoth 3-143).
Final standings: Combined City XI (11 points) 1; Mofussil XI (11) 2; President’s XI (10) 3; Bangalore City XI (10) 4; Bangalore Zone (10) 5; Combined Mofussil XI (8) 6.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)