Ganesh shapes Gladiators' win

Ganesh shapes Gladiators' win

Ganesh shapes Gladiators' win

The opener’s class helped the Gladiators make light of what could have been a tricky chase after the Maharaajas, asked to bat first, made what under the conditions, but on a slightly better batting surface, was a reasonably competitive 133 for seven.

Satish’s polished 58 not out (55b, 4x4, 1x6), coupled with Kunal Kapoor’s intelligence and Ryan Ninan’s fearlessness, helped the Gladiators coast to 135 for three with five deliveries to spare, the coup de grace a massive six by Kapoor off off-spinner C Raghu that smashed the front left window of the Mahindra Xylo on display, the spoils for the Player of the tournament. Given that the award is being sponsored by the Maharaajas’ owners, Kapoor’s blow was adding injury to insult, in a manner of speaking!


MYSORE MAHARAAJAS: KB Pawan c Kapoor b Moinuddin 27, HT Sudhir Rao c Akshay b Gowtham 18, Nithin Bille c Shashindra b Gowtham 0, Shoaib Manager c Akshay b Moinuddin 14, Abrar Kazi c Gowtham b Akshay 11, C Raghu (run out) 25, SP Manjunath c Gowtham b Akshay 5, Chetan William (not out) 22, Aditya Sagar (not out) 0. Extras (B-2, LB-2, W-6, NB-1) 11. Total (for 7 wkts, 20 overs) 133.

Fall of wickets: 1-30, 2-30, 3-62, 4-69, 5-87, 6-101, 7-123.

Bowling: SL Akshay 4-0-40-2 (w-1, nb-1), Rajoo Bhatkal 4-0-35-0 (w-2), K Gowtham 4-0-22-2 (w-3), Ryan Ninan 4-0-16-0, SK Moinuddin 4-0-16-2.

MALNAD GLADIATORS: Ganesh Satish (not out) 58, K Shashindra lbw Raghavendra 17, Sanjay Kumar c Bille b Williams 7, Kunal Kapoor c Manager b Sagar 28, Ryan Ninan  (not out) 15. Extras (LB-7, W-3) 10. Total (for 3 wkts, 19.1 overs) 135.

Fall of wickets: 1-29, 2-44, 3-105.

Bowling: Aditya Sagar 4-0-27-1 (w-3), Chetan William 3.1-0-11-1, Tarun Muthanna 2-0-22-0, C Raghavendra 3-0-28-1, Abrar Kazi 4-0-19-0, C Raghu 3-0-21-0.