12 candidates file papers in Mysuru district

Twelve people from Mysuru district have filed their nominations for the upcoming Assembly elections, on Thursday. With this, 14 people have filed the papers from the date of notification, on April 17.

While three candidates from Chamundeshwari, two each from Krishnaraja, Chamaraja, Periyapatna and Hunsur, have submitted the papers, one candidate from Narasimharaja Assembly segment has filed the papers, on Thursday. No candidate from T Narasipur, HD Kote, KR Nagar and Nanjangud have filed the nominations.

While Dr K Padmanabharajan from Salem district in Tamil Nadu, filed his nomination as an Independent from Chamundeshwari constituency, Thotadappa Basavaraju has filed his nomination as a BJP candidate from Varuna constituency, on April 19. However, Basavaraju is yet to submit the 'B' form.

Two persons, including sitting MLA Vasu and a woman, have filed their nomination papers to contest from Chamaraja Assembly segment under city limits. While Vasu submitted his papers to contest on a Congress ticket, Malavika Gubbivani filed the papers from the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

Corporator K V Mallesh from Krishnaraja (KR) on JD(S) ticket and Abdul Majeed of Social Democratic Party of India (SDPI) from Narasimharaja (NR) Assembly segment have filed their papers. All the above candidates submitted their papers at the Mysuru City Corporation (MCC) office in the city.

Vasu, who arrived along with five people submitted three sets of nominations and declared his assets. He also offered puja at Kote Anjaneya Swami temple before filing the papers. This is the fourth election for Vasu. While he suffered a defeat in 1999 and 2008, he was elected in 2013.

Mallesh and Malavika Gubbivani, along with their supporters took out a procession, before filing the papers. Similarly, Majeed took out a procession from Chamundi Vihar stadium.

Three persons – H V Keshavaprasad of Ramakrishna Nagar, Srinivas of Bogadi (both Independent) and M S Praveen (Bharatiya Janashakthi Congress) – filed the papers to contest from Chamundeshwari segment.

While former MP A H Vishwanath filed papers on JD(S) ticket from Hunsur segment, P S Yadurappa of Periyapatna filed his papers as an Independent candidate.

K Mahadev filed the papers to contest from Periyapatna segment on JD(S) ticket and Srinivas filed as an Independent.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0