Arunachal Pradesh Assembly Elections 2024: Chowkham constituency result

Check out the interactive map to know the winners, candidate performance and party performance in the Chowkham constituency in the Arunachal Pradesh Assembly elections.
Last Updated : 02 June 2024, 04:48 IST
Last Updated : 02 June 2024, 04:48 IST

Follow Us :


Chowna Mein, deputy Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh, from the Bharatiya Janata Party won the Chowkham seat in the 2024 Legislative Assembly elections uncontested.

The Chowkham constituency in the Lohit district of Arunachal Pradesh went to polls on April 19, 2024. Over 8.88 lakh voters in the state were eligible to exercise their franchise in the Legislative Assembly elections this year, which are being held alongside the Lok Sabha elections. However, unlike some states which are voting in multiple phases, Arunachal Pradesh voted in a single phase, for both the Assembly and the Lok Sabha polls.

The term of the 60-member Legislative Assembly is slated to end on June 2, 2024.

What happened in the 2019 Legislative Assembly elections?

Chowkham is one of the 41 Assembly seats won by the BJP in the 2019 Legislative Assembly elections.

In the 2019 elections, Chowkham constituency had 14084 voters, and saw a voter turnout of 74.7 %.

BJP candidate Chowna Mein won the Chowkham constituency in the 2019 elections, with a margin of 7291 votes.

The 2019 Assembly election in Arunachal Pradesh saw the BJP cruise to victory, with the saffron party securing over 50 per cent of total votes and winning 41 seats. Compared to the 2014 polls, the number of seats won by the BJP increased by an impressive 30 in 2019.

The JD(U), which contested 15 seats, emerged as the second largest party, with seven wins. Meanwhile, the NPP secured five seats, while the Congress won just four. Of the remaining three seats, one was won by the People’s Party of Arunachal, while two were won by independent candidates.

As a result, the NPP saw itself getting accorded the status of a National Party as well as a Recognized State Party in Arunachal by the ECI. Meanwhile the JD(U), based off its performance, was accorded the status of a Recognized State Party. After the elections, the BJP formed the government in the state, with Pema Khandu as the Chief Minister.

Lok Sabha Elections 2024 | Will it be Narendra Modi's 'Viksit Bharat' or Rahul Gandhi's I.N.D.I.A? As the world's largest democracy votes to choose its future, track live news, in-depth opinions, and analyses only on Deccan Herald.

Assembly Elections 2024 | Don't miss out on our detailed coverage of the polls in Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, and Odisha. Subscribe and follow DH on Whatsapp, X, Facebook, and Instagram to never miss out on anything.

Published 01 June 2024, 22:30 IST

Follow us on :

Follow Us