Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Four berths for NDA ally TDP in union cabinet, 2 for now, 2 from Telangana BJP MPs, no cabinet berth for Jana Sena

Srikakulam MP, Kinjarapu Ram Mohan Naidu, and Guntur MP, Dr Pemmasani Chandrsekhar, will take oath.
Last Updated : 09 June 2024, 07:19 IST
Last Updated : 09 June 2024, 07:19 IST

Follow Us :


Hyderabad: Two MPs from the NDA ally from Andhra Pradesh, the TDP, will take oath on Sunday evening as union ministers, along with Narendra Modi, who will be sworn in as prime minister for the third time.

Sources in the TDP confirmed to DH that Srikakulam MP, Kinjarapu Ram Mohan Naidu, and Guntur MP, Dr. Pemmasani Chandrsekhar, will take oath. The TDP was also promised by BJP bosses to induct two more during the union cabinet expansion after a few days. In total, the TDP will get four union cabinet berths. Another ally, Jana Sena, is not getting any place in the union cabinet this time.

The 36-year-old Ram Mohan Naidu is likely to get union minister or independent charge and Chandrasekhar, MoS.

Secunderabad MP & BJP Telangana chief G Kishan Reddy & Karimnagar MP party national general secretary Bandi Sanjay are also tipped to be union ministers.

Proportionately, the BJP may get berths in the state cabinet in Andhra Pradesh. Naidu will be sworn in as Andhra Pradesh chief minister on June 12.

Ram Mohan Naidu became MP at 26

An electrical engineering and MBA graduate, Ram Mohan Naidu is MP for the third time from Srikakulam, which was once represented by his father, Kinjarapu Yerran Naidu, who died in a tragic mishap in 2012. Yerram Naidu was the face of the TDP in national politics in Delhi for a long and also served as union minister during United Front times.

Ram Mohan Naidu, a BC leader, could win as Srikakulam MP even during the YSRCP wave in the 2019 polls. He was one of the three MPs of TDP who won the 2019 polls. In the just-concluded polls, Ram Mohan Naidu won with a record majority of 3.27 lakh votes.

Ram Mohan Naidu attended the prestigious Delhi Public School, RK Puram, for his schooling. He pursued his undergraduate studies in electrical engineering from the renowned Purdue University, followed by a postgraduate degree in MBA from Long Island.

Initially drawn to a career in Singapore, fate led him back to his roots after the tragic demise of his father in a car accident in 2012. This event propelled him into the realm of politics. At the tender age of 26, he contested and won as the Lok Sabha MP from Srikakulam in 2014, making waves as the second youngest MP in the 16th Lok Sabha.

Serving as TDP's national general secretary, Ram Mohan Naidu is considered one of the most loyalists to Chandrababu Naidu, akin to his father, Yerram Naidu. During critical junctures, such as the arrest of Naidu, Ram Mohan Naidu played a pivotal role alongside Nara Lokesh in Delhi. Their combined efforts were instrumental as they navigated through various political corridors, seeking support and solidarity from key leaders.

In a remarkable twist of history, Ram Mohan Naidu follows in the footsteps of his father, Yerran Naidu, who was the youngest Cabinet Minister in 1996. Now, in 2024, Ram Mohan Naidu is also set to break his father's record by becoming the youngest Cabinet Minister in the NDA coalition.

Richest MP, Pemmasani

Dr. Pemmasani Chandrsekhar is a first-time MP and probably the richest among all the newly elected MPs in the country.

In his election affidavit, Chandrasekhar declared his family assets worth Rs 5,785.28 crore. He is a doctor by profession and has also had a few successful business ventures.

It is his first election. 47-year-old Dr. Chandrasekhar returned to India to contest the 2024 polls. Dr. Chandrasekhar and his wife, Koneru Sriratna, own joint shares in almost 100 companies across the world.

He studied MD in Internal Medicine at Geisinger Medical Centre in Danville, Pennsylvania, USA, in 2005 after completing MBBS at Osmania University in 1999.

He also comes from the most powerful and influential social group in Kammas. Dr. Chadrasekha, who went to the US to pursue masters, made fortunes and returned to India to give them back to society. While he first tried the TDP ticket from Narasaraopet Lok Sabha segment party supremo, N Chandrababu Naidu decided to field him from Guntur. Naidu's ambitious Amaravati capital city project falls under the Guntur Lok Sabha segment.

With his connections worldwide due to a successful business career, Naidu expects Dr. Chandrasekhar to bring in new investments to Andhra Pradesh and has picked him to be in the union cabinet.

One or two BJP MPs from Telangana may also find a place in the union cabinet. In 2024, BJP won eight of the 17 Lok Sabha seats in Telangana, which is the highest tally for the saffron party in this key southern state of Telangana. BJP sees an opportunity in Telangana to grow hence may accommodate party MPs from the state in the union cabinet to leverage some advantage politically and also governance wise. Secunderad, MP, G Kishan Reddy, party national general secretary, Karimnagar MP, Bandi Sanjay, Malkajgiri MP and former state minister, Etela Rajender are in the race to bag a berth in the union cabinet.

Published 09 June 2024, 03:35 IST

Follow us on :

Follow Us