Hubballi-Dharwad Central, West, Dharwad in district attract more candidates

Hubballi-Dharwad Central, West, Dharwad in district attract more candidates

The Hubballi-Dharwad Central constituency (erstwhile Hubballi Rural constituency), which has given two chief ministers, is not just a seat of prestige for all major political parties, but is also the constituency where maximum number of candidates in the district fought with each other in the last elections.

This time, the Hubballi-Dharwad Central constituency is one of the most prestigious constituencies in the region, as all parties are leaving no stone unturned to win this seat, which is being won by Jagadish Shettar of BJP since last five terms continuously.

The fight in this constituency gained much heat in 2013 elections itself, as 19 candidates including 11 independent candidates were in the poll fray, which was highest among all the seven constituencies in the district. A similar rush for the race to win the hearts of the voters in this constituency is expected this time too. By the way, this constituency also has the record of having a maximum number of candidates in the district in recent decades, ie, 30 candidates were in the fray in 1994 elections.

The Hubballi-Dharwad West constituency (earlier Dharwad constituency) had 18 candidates in 2013. In both 2013 and 2008 elections, least number of candidates in the district were in the poll fray in Hubballi-Dharwad East constituency (earlier Hubballi constituency).

In 2008, maximum number of candidates (17) had contested from Dharwad constituency (earlier Dharwad Rural constituency). This time also, the number of candidates is likely to be more here, where minister Vinay Kulkarni of Congress is the sitting MLA.

Less women candidates

Though the average number of candidates in each constituency in the district since last several years is around 10, the number of women contesting the polls is very less.

Out of 94 candidates who were in poll fray from seven constituencies in the district in 2013 elections, only six were women, while Hubballi-Dharwad East and Kundgol constituencies were without any woman candidate.

In 2008, six women candidates of the total 83 candidates were in the fray in the district. Women candidates in the district were seven in 2004, while the number of total candidates was 80 in the district. Out of 53 candidates in 1999, only two candidates were women.

One victory

Among the women candidates who contested in the district in last two decades, only Seema Masuthi of BJP emerged victorious from Dharwad constituency in 2008. But, she was defeated in 2014, by Vinay Kulkarni of the Congress.

Former MLC Savitri Gundi of JD(U) was also in the poll fray from Dharwad constituency in 2008. Shobha Ballari (Hukkeri) of BSP contested in the elections three times continuously, ie, from Kalghatagi in 2013, from Hubballi-Dharwad East in 2008, and from erstwhile Hubballi Urban constituency in 2004.

In last four elections, a total of 21 women candidates have contested from different constituencies in the district, while nine of them were independent candidates.

Several major parties, except Congress Party, fielded woman candidate at least once in at least one constituency in the district in the last two decades. In most of the cases, they lost their deposits.

Way back in 1970s, Sumati Madiman was a two-time MLA from erstwhile Dharwad rural constituency.


DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)