LS Polls: Congress releases third list of candidates

Last Updated 11 April 2019, 11:54 IST

Congress on Friday night released its third list of candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

The third list of 18 candidates names candidates from Assam, Meghalaya, Sikkim, Telangana, Nagaland and Uttar Pradesh.

Sitting members Gaurav Gogoi, Sushmita Dev and Vincent Pala have been re-nominated from Kaliabor, Silchar and Shillong Lok Sabha seats respectively.

Former Meghalaya Chief Minister Mukul Sangma has been fielded from Tura, the stronghold of former Lok Sabha Speaker late P A Sangma and his family.

Congress has fielded Tanuj Punia, the son of Rajya Sabha member Panna Lal Punia, from Barabanki in Uttar Pradesh.

The list also figures eight candidates from Telangana. Working Presidents of Telangana Congress Ponnam Prabhakar and A Revanth Reddy have been fielded from Karimnagar and Malkajgiri seats respectively.

Konda Vishweshawar Reddy has been fielded from Chevella, while Porika Balram Naik will be in the fray from Mahbubabad.

Ramesh Rathod will be in the fray from Adilabad, A Chandra Sekhar from Peddapalle, K Madan Mohan Rao from Zahirabad and G Anil Kumar from Medak.

Sikkim Congress President Bharat Basnett will be in the fray from the lone seat in the hill state, while K L Chishi will be the nominee from Nagaland.

In Assam, Congress has fielded Swarup Das from Karimganj, Sushanta Borgohain from Jorhat and former union minister Paban Singh Ghatowar from Dibrugarh.

(Published 15 March 2019, 18:46 IST)

Follow us on