Cabinet approves 50 new KVs, 2 for K'taka

Cabinet approves 50 new KVs, 2 for K'taka

The Union government on Thursday approved opening of 50 new Kendriya Vidyalayas (KV) in 18 states.

Two of these 50 KVs are to be set up in Karnataka with one in Yeshwantpur, Bengaluru, and the other in Sadalga, Belagavi.

While the school to be opened in Yeshwantpur has been sponsored by the Railway Ministry, the Karnataka government has sponsored opening of a new KV in Sadalga.

“The Union Cabinet, chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, has approved the setting up of 50 new Kendriya Vidyalayas under civil/defence sector all over the country,” the government said in a statement.

"These schools will provide quality education to approximately 50,000 students once they become fully operational,” it added.

Of the 50 new KVs approved by the Cabinet, six will be opened in Uttar Pradesh; five in Madhya Pradesh; four each in Tamil Nadu and Odisha; three each in Haryana, Jharkhand and Arunachal Pradesh; two each in Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Uttarakhand, West Bengal, Andhra Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir and Karnataka.

Fifteen of the 50 new KVs have been sponsored by the Union Home Ministry and six by the Railway Ministry.