Counting of votes begins in Jharkhand, J-K Polls

Counting of votes begins in Jharkhand, J-K Polls

Counting of votes for the Jharkhand and J-K Assembly began across the two state today amid tight security.

The counting is in progress for 81-member Jharkhand Assembly across 24 centres amid tight security.

There are 1,312 counting tables, besides 83 tables for assistant returning officers, an Election Commission release said here.

The process began at 7 AM and the actual counting started an hour later.
Deogarh constituency would have the maximum rounds of 31 and Chakradharpur the minimum with 10 rounds.

The nearly four-week long elections to the Assembly concluded on December 20 to decide its fate after two previous voters' verdict throwing a hung House.

A record 66.47 per cent polling had been registered in the five-phase polling, which began on November 25.

Chief Minister Hemant Soren (JMM -Dumka and Barhait seats) and ex-CMs Arjun Munda (BJP-Kharsawan), Madhu Koda (Jai Bharat Samanta Party-Majhgaon) and Babulal Marandi (Jharkhand Vikas Morcha-Dhanwar-Giridih) are among the total 1,136 candidates, including 111 women, who contested the polls.

Other prominent candidates in the fray were Speaker Shashank Sekhar Bhokta (JMM) from Sarath and ex-Speaker C P Singh (BJP) from Ranchi.

In J-K, counting centres have been set up at all 22 district headquarters of the state. Additional counting centres have also been set up in constituencies which have been cut off by snow or inclement weather, officials said.

Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly has 87 seats.

Elaborate security arrangements have been made for the counting process with police and paramilitary personnel deployed in strength around the counting centres and in some parts of the city.

A strategy has been put in place to deal with any law and order problem which may arise during or after the counting.

The early trends are expected in 30 to 45 minutes, the officials said.
A total of 821 candidates, including 276 independents, contested the elections.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0