MNF nominee edges out rival by just three votes

MNF nominee edges out rival by just three votes


Tuivawl Assembly seat in Mizoram witnessed the most closely contested election.

Mizo National Front candidate Lalchhandama edging out the Congress' nominee R L Pianmawia by a margin of just three votes.

Zoramthanga-led MNF bounced back to power in Mizoram by defeating the 10-year-old Congress government led by chief minister Lal Thanhawla in the Assembly elections, results of which were declared on Tuesday.

In the closely fought elections, nine candidates won by a margin of less than 500 votes.

Lal Thanhawla tasted defeat at the hands of Independent candidate Lalduhoma by a margin of 410 votes from the Serchhip Assembly seat.

Lal Thanhawla also lost the election from Champhai South to MNF's T J Lalnuntluanga by a 1,049 margin.

The Lunglei East and Lunglei West Assembly seats were won by a thin margin of 72 and 77 votes respectively.

Transport Minister John Rotluangliana lost to MNF candidate H Lalzirliana from the Mamit Assembly seat by a margin of 407 votes.

In Tawi Assembly seat, MNF candidate R Lalzirliana defeated independent candidate R Lalthatluanga by a margin of 184 votes

In Langlei North Assembly seat, MNF nominee Vanlaltanpuia defeated Independent candidate V Malsawmtluanga by a margin of 395 votes.

In Tuirial Assembly seat, Independent candidate Andrew H Thangliana defeated MNF nominee Sailothanga Sailo by 204 votes.

In Kolasib Assembly segment, MNF leader K Lalrinliana defeated Independent candidate Lalfamkima by 279 votes.