Four Metro stations near PM's residence in Delhi closed

The four stations -- Udyog Bhawan, Race Course, Jor Bagh on Gurgaon Line and Khan Market on Badarpur corridor were closed at 3:00 PM.

"The metro stations were closed following orders from Delhi Police. The stations will be closed till further orders," a DMRC spokesman said.

All the four Metro stations, which were shut down, are close to 7, Race Course Road, the official residence of the Prime Minister.

The move to close the stations follows Team Hazare's call to people asking them to hold peaceful protests outside the Prime Minister's residence at 5 PM demanding a strong Lokpal.

The decision was taken following apprehensions that the protesters from Ramlila Maidan could reach 7, RCR by Metro.

Around 80 people were detained on Sunday when they tried to hold a protest near the Prime Minister's residence on the same issue.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)