RLSP chief Kushwaha to contest from two LS seats

RLSP president and former Union Minister Upendra Kushwaha. PTI file photo

RLSP president and former Union Minister Upendra Kushwaha, who served in Narendra Modi regime for 55 months before dumping the NDA and joining Mahagatbandhan in December last, will contest Lok Sabha polls from two constituencies in Bihar.

This decision comes close on the heels of Rahul Gandhi decided to contest from two Lok Sabha seats.

“I will contest from Karakat, my present constituency, besides Ujiyarpur. I have to defeat both the BJP and the JD (U) in the ensuing polls. So I will contest against Mahabali Singh of JD (U) in Karakat and Bihar BJP chief Nityanand Rai in Ujiyarpur,” said Kushwaha, whose Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) has been allotted five seats out of total 40 Lok Sabha constituencies in Bihar.

The RJD is contesting 19 seats while the Congress has fielded its nominees on nine seats. Jitan Ram Manjhi’s HAM and ‘son of Mallah’ Mukesh Sahni’s VIP have been allocated three seats each. One seat (Ara) has been left for the ultra-Left outfit CPI-ML.

Kushwaha, who recently faced corruption allegations by his partymen (who alleged he was selling Lok Sabha tickets) has no qualms in admitting that he took money as his “political party was new. And those rich people who can give donations should always help us.”  

Angry over this episode, RLSP working president Nagmani quit the party and joined JD (U). Left to fend for himself, Kushwaha has fielded former MP, Bhudeo Choudhary from Jamui against Chirag Paswan, son of Ram Vilas Paswan. One seat West Champaran has been given to Congress Rajya Sabha member Akhilesh Singh’s son Aakash Singh as the RLSP nominee.


Meanwhile, the JD (U) nominee from Sitamarhi, Dr Varun on Wednesday returned the party symbol and refused to contest from Sitamarhi parliamentary constituency. “Neither the JD (U) nor the BJP workers were working for me. Hence I decided to withdraw from poll fray,” he said. The JD (U), meanwhile, inducted former minister and BJP leader Sunil Kumar Pintu into the party and fielded him from Sitamarhi.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 1

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0



RLSP chief Kushwaha to contest from two LS seats


Write the first review for this !