Daruvala clinches NZ Grand Prix

Daruvala clinches NZ Grand Prix

Sahara Force India Academy Racer, Jehan Daruvala registered the first Grand Prix victory for 2017 when he won the New Zealand Grand Prix at the Chris Amon Circuit in Manfeild, New Zealand.

Jehan’s feat makes him the first and only Indian to win a Grand Prix in motorsport. Keke Rosberg, Sir Jackie Stewart, Sir Jack Brabham, Sir Stirling Moss, John Surtees, Bruce McLaren are some of the illustrious past winners of this Grand Prix.

“I am happy with the pace I have had throughout the series. Winning the Grand Prix is absolutely fantastic and is a proud moment in my racing career so far. I am thankful for everyone around who has helped me achieve this. I am completely focused on what lies ahead and I am confident of a good first year in Formula 3. I will be continuing to work hard with testing and fitness as well,” said the Indian teenager.

Jehan  was second runner-up at the FIA CIK World Karting Championship in 2014. Prior to that, he became the first and only Indian to win a Karting Championship in Europe when he won the British KF3 Championship. In 2012 he became the first and only Indian to win a CIK Championship when we won the FIA CIK Asia Pacific KF3 Championship in Macau.

Jehan will now graduate to the FIA F3 European Championship.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)