Pakistan knock S Africa out

Pakistan knock S Africa out

Pakistan knock S Africa out

Hefty blow: Pakistan’s Umar Akmal en route to his quickfire fifty against South Africa on Monday. Reuters

The result meant England, who have won both opening Super Eight games, go through to the last four regardless of the outcome of their final match against New Zealand later on Monday. Pakistan and South Africa both have two points from three matches but Pakistan have a superior run-rate.

Umar Akmal struck 51 from 33 balls as Pakistan recovered from a poor start to make 148 for seven.

In reply, South Africa were only 56 for three after 10 overs but a spirited 53 off 41 balls from AB de Villiers gave them a fighting chance which they were unable to make the most of as Pakistan spinner Saeed Ajmal took four wickets.

Earlier, Charl Langeveldt’s four-wicker haul helped South Africa restrict defending champions Pakistan to modest 148 for seven in a crucial Super Eights match of the World Twenty20 at the Beausejour Cricket Ground here on Monday.

The Akmal brothers -– Umar (51) and Kamran (37) — rescued the side which looked crippled at 18 for three inside five overs and down the order, captain Shahid Afridi hit an 18-ball 30 as Pakistan inched close to the 150-mark. Umar made 51 off just 33 balls, slamming four sixes and two boundaries but his exit and that of Afridi close on his heels, brought the South Africans back into the game but only for  a short while.


K Akmal c Gibbs b Merwe    37
Butt c Smith b Steyn    2
Latif c Steyn b Kallis    7
Hafeez lbw b Langeveldt    1
U Akmal c Gibbs b Langeveldt    51
Afridi b Langeveldt    30
Razzaq (not out)    11
Misbah c de Villiers b Langeveldt    3
Rehman (not out)    2
Extras (LB-1, W-3)    4     
Total (for 7 wickets, 20 overs)    148
Fall of wickets: 1-6, 2-14, 3-18, 4-69, 5-130, 6-132, 7-143.
Bowling: A Morkel 4-0-28-0, Steyn 4-0-26-1, Langeveldt 4-0-19-4, Kallis 4-0-28-1, Botha 2-0-13-0, R van der Merwe 2-0-33-1.

Gibbs c Misbah b Razzaq     3
Smith c Afridi b Rehman    13
Kallis c Umar Akmal b Ajmal    22
De Villiers c K Akmal b Ajmal    53
Duminy c Latif b Rehman    3
Boucher lbw b Ajmal    12
A Morkel (not out)    7
Botha st K Akmal b Ajmal    19
R van der Merwe (not out)    2
Extras (LB-1, W-2)    3     
Total (for 7 wicket, 20 overs)    137
Fall of wickets: 1-12, 2-23, 3-56, 4-68, 5-101, 6-113, 7-135.
Bowling: Razzaq 3-0-16-1, Aamer 4-0-33-0, Rehman 4-0-35-2, Hafeez 1-0-5-0, Afridi 4-0-21-0, Ajmal 4-0-26-4.