Sehwag named in DDCA Cricket Committee

Sehwag named in DDCA Cricket Committee

Virender Sehwag

The newly-elected Delhi and District Cricket Association (DDCA) president Rajat Sharma on Wednesday announced the formation of a three-member Cricket Committee.

Former India openers Virender Sehwag and Aakash Chopra, along with Test left-arm spinner Rahul Sanghvi, will be part of the committee saddled with the task of ensuring seamless operations of state body’ cricket’s affairs. Gautam Gambhir will be the “special invitee” to the committee.

“The cricket committee is authorised to form various selection committees as per the recommendations made by the Lodha Committee and the BCCI guidelines for the State Association and to give valuable guidance to the association for the improvement of cricket in Delhi,” Sharma said in the release.

Though the new DDCA president has stated that the appointments have been made in line with the Lodha Committee recommendations, questions on conflict of interest are expected to be raised.

Gambhir’s presence in the committee would raise questions and needs the approval of the Ombudsman, Justice Badar Durrez Ahmed, former Chief Justice of Jammu and Kashmir. Incidentally, Gambhir was nominated the Government nominee by Sports Minister Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore last year. However, he could not accept the role in the DDCA Executive Committee due to the Conflict of Interest clause.